Bible, Christian, Faith, Inspiration, pray, Uncategorized

Finding Beauty in the Rain

 

IMG_1569 - Copy
Photo Courtesy, Glenn McCoy

“As the rain and the snow
    come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
    without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
    so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
    It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
    and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. – Isaiah 55:10-11 NIV

You know that feeling. You roll out of bed and open the drapes, in hopes that the warm, beautiful, summer sun will come rolling across your floor, to wake you out of your slumber.  But then it happens. The weather forecast was… (gasp!)…wrong?! So you stare at the rain drops, as they drip down your window, contemplating crawling back underneath the warm covers. Your brain spirals into what the rainy day might bring: frizzy hair, extra slow traffic, no walk for the dog, no exercise outside, lack of motivation, misery… and before you know it, you’re having a terrible day. And you’re only three minutes into the morning!

What if you stopped your thought process before it went down the wrong road? It’s kind of like the glass half-full/half-empty scenario. Instead of pointing out all that could go wrong, brainstorm the positive: you don’t have to bother styling your hair, your feet will enjoy a break from the walk, the boss will give everyone grace due to the weather and delays, you get to change-up your workout to something indoors today, maybe a good nap or curling up with a good book later, oh and there’s that free car wash God just gave you! Oh- and He watered the flowers for you, too! Before you know it, you’re so overflowing with thankfulness, you are excited for what this day holds!

Let’s find the beauty in the rain, friends. God created rain for many incredible purposes, and we can’t live without it. Similarly, God has purpose in the “rain” that happens in our lives. Perhaps focusing on the positive, or what God might be orchestrating in the midst of these rainy moments, is how we walk out being thankful in all circumstances. Not being thankful necessarily for the circumstance, but in the circumstance.

“…give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” –Thessalonians 5:18

Or quite possibly, this focus on the glass half-full, is what helps us to be patient in times of trouble.

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” -Romans 12:12

Either way, how can you change your outlook, which will ultimately change your day? Start small. When you find yourself upset about a situation, focusing on the negative, or complaining, catch yourself. That’s the first step to change the behavior: become aware of it. Then, replace that lie with a truth.

God, thank you that there are no parking spots available near the door. This is an apportunity to get some extra steps in!

Lord, I feel sick, but thank you for this time of rest and healing. I know sickness is not from you, but you have allowed it for some reason, so please show me what you’re doing in this time. What can I learn in this situation?

Daddy in Heaven, this friendship/relationship has ended, but thank you because I know you are doing a new thing. Show me what you want me to see. Thank you for freeing me to let go of the past. Show me how to be a fabulous friend for my future. Give me your eyes to see, and your heart to love people. Help me learn how to walk in forgiveness and without a spirit of offense.

Jesus, I lost my job, but I trust you and know that you will work all things for good. Is there something I need to learn about my finances? Honoring authority? Loving my coworkers? Thank you for this time away from my job so that I can reflect, refresh, and grow stronger.

Father, I have been waiting on a spouse/child/job/house/promotion/miracle/answer to prayer for some time now, but thank you that you are in the waiting. Thank you that you are drawing me closer to you in this time. Thank you for what you are teaching me. Thank you that I am learning how to worship and pray. Please change me. Let my desires match your desires. Help me to follow you and place you in the center of my life. Help me to see the beauty and purpose in this rain!

I know it seems like a daunting task, but I promise you, that if you are persistent, you will start to see the beauty in just about every circumstance… and when you can’t, you will know that you can still trust Him. He will carry you through. He may not stop the rain. He may not provide the umbrella to shelter you from the rain, but there’s a purpose in the rain. So don’t always run from the rain. It might just be watering some seeds, causing flowers to bloom and flourish in your life:)

Here’s to the beauty in the rain, friends!

Here’s to your health!

Love,

RISENfitness

www.RISENfitness.com

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Finding Beauty in the Rain”

  1. Finding beauty in the negative is a very unnatural thing to do. This blog is a great reminder that we should find the positive in everything. After all, we’re from the heavenly realm and need to be an example to this world of where we come from and how we do things! A+

    Like

Leave a Reply

