Bible, Christian, Faith, fitness, healthy, Inspiration, pray, Sacrifice, Uncategorized, Whole Life

Achieve your goal: Put the time in.

IMG_1623 - Copy
Photo Courtesy, Glenn McCoy

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. -Galatians 6:9 ESV

Time. We all have the same amount of it. Most of us wish we had more of it. Many of us do not want to “waste” time on things that we don’t see as worthwhile. But have you ever wondered what God sees as worthy of your time?

If you want to build your friendships, your family relationships, or your marriage, you’ve got to put the time in to see the relationships flourish. Bonds, forgiveness, closeness, unity, and love don’t just happen magically.

In order to improve a skill you’ve been blessed with, you have to invest time practicing, learning, studying, and growing in this area. You don’t just pick up a guitar and “poof!” …turn in to Brad Paisley.

If you are sick or your health is failing, you must put time in, following the doctor’s orders. This may mean rest, drinking fluids, chicken soup, Vitamin C, following a specific diet, learning to cook, exercising, stretching, or doing physical therapy. You can pray for a miracle, but from what I have seen, most of the time, healing requires some bit of work and faith on our part. (God can choose to heal things miraculously, so do not mistake my point, here.)

Building your faith, your relationship with God, your knowledge of scripture: these things also require an investment of our time. You can spend time reading your Bible, praying, studying who God is, being in His presence, and worshiping Him. The day we receive Jesus as our Savior, we are graciously gifted a place in Heaven… but we do not immediately die and end up there. Why? Because He has work for us to do this side of Eternity! If you want to know what your purpose is, aside from loving people to Christ, you probably have to put some time in, exploring what His will is for your life.

So, the same is true for our fitness goals. If you want to have a six-pack, lose 30 pounds, run a marathon, lower your blood pressure, reduce your cholesterol, reverse a pre-diabetic diagnosis, obtain a job in law enforcement, the military, or compete on American Ninja Warrior, you’ve got to put the time in. I have personally felt the challenge this can bring, my friend.

At one point in my life, I gave up on my dream job when I found out it required physical fitness standards. I said to myself, “Well, I guess that’s out. Better find another dream.” But the dream never died. With the Lord’s help (and a fit hubby coaching me) it took me over a year to get into the best shape of my life. It was hard work. Don’t let this blog fool you: Physical fitness does not come naturally for me! I’m talking chicken breasts and Brussel sprouts for lunch. Every day. Waking up at 4AM to work out. Sometimes twice a day; six days a week. But when I crossed the finish line in Snowmageddon and four feet of snow, with flying colors (I definitely felt Angels carrying me!), with less than half of our class passing… I secured that dream job… and I sure was glad I put the work in.

I once had a client come to me, frustrated. She was training with me three times a week, and working out on her own two days a week. She had lost a substantial amount of weight very quickly, but wasn’t able to achieve her goal. I asked her if she was eating the way we had discussed. She said, “No, I just eat whatever I want. If I want pizza, I eat pizza. I work out enough to burn it off.” Well there’s a lie from the enemy! You cannot out-run a bad diet.

In the beginning, if you are new to exercise, the weight may fall off quickly. But as your body adapts, you must put in additional work. This may mean weighing your food, measuring portion sizes, counting calories, or changing your workout routine. Yes, I know it requires much more time and patience. But how bad do you want it? You only get one body. No do-overs. Your body is not your own. It is the Temple of the Most High God. Are you honoring Him by the way you’re treating your body? Are you treating your body well, or are you abusing it with overindulgence in junk food, alcohol, tobacco, illegal drugs, abuse of prescription drugs, or things that you know feel good temporarily- but are damaging your flesh? I’m not saying you should live in a bubble and never have an ice cream cone. But take some time and consider the big picture. Pray over any changes God may have you make. Then: put the time in.

“I am holding you by your right hand—I, the Lord your God—and I say to you, Don’t be afraid; I am here to help you”Isaiah 41:13 (TLB)

We are walking through this challenge right along side you, friends! We love you and we are praying for you. If there’s any fitness advice we can share, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment below, send us an email, or Tweet us @RISENfitness.

Here’s to your health!

Love,

RISENfitness

www.RISENfitness.com

Leave a Reply

